Off-campus users: In order to use the research databases, you will need to access them through links on this guide or links on the library site, not by typing the web addresses (for example, nclive.org) directly into your browser; then you will be directed to a login page where you'll need to enter your key account login and password (same login used for accessing Blackboard, WebAdvisor, and my.waketech email).
NC LIVE Databases
NC LIVE provides access to hundreds of databases on various topics. The databases listed below are recommended based on your general research assignment. Make sure you read the database descriptions to select one (or several) to use for your search! Depending on your career topic, you may need to select more subject-specific databases in addition to the multi-disciplinary (general) databases listed.
You can find articles and other written work using ProQuest Central and JSTOR. There are videos and documentaries available in Films on Demand and the NC LIVE video collection.
Off-campus users: You will need to enter your key account login and password (same login used for accessing Blackboard, WebAdvisor, and my.waketech email) to access databases.
Arts & Humanities Database (opens in new window)
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theater, and Cultural Studies.
JSTOR (opens in new window)
Offers scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated (PDF files). JSTOR covers a vast area of disciplines, including literature, science, history, foreign languages, and education.
Films on Demand Video Collection (opens in new window)
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.
ProQuest Central (opens in new window)
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.