Wake Tech Community College


Blackboard Calendar Locations Student Email Moodle my.WakeTech WebAdvisor

Business

A guide to resources focusing on general business and specialized business topics

Recommended Databases: Marketing & Advertising
(includes both fee-based and free sources)

Off-campus users: you may be prompted to enter your username and password for access. Please use your key account login and password which is the same login used for accessing Blackboard and WebAdvisor.

Ad*Access (opens in a new window) - presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on the following: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty & Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.

Advertising Age Datacenter (opens in a new window) - provides recent lists of top advertisers and media companies, as well as reports on agencies and advertising markets.

Business Information Center (opens in a new window) via NC LIVE - provides access to EBSCO's Business Source Complete and trade journals such as Advertising Age and Business Marketing.

Knowledge@Wharton (opens in a new window) - Wharton Business School offers recent news articles and general information in various fields of business.

Magazines, Journals & Newsletters: Marketing & Advertising (Subject-Specific Sources)

Off-campus users: you may be prompted to enter your username and password for access. Please use your key account login and password which is the same login used for accessing Blackboard and WebAdvisor.

Online Dictionaries & Directories: Marketing & Advertising

Associations & Organizations: Marketing & Advertising

Advertising Research Foundation (opens in a new window) - improves the practice of advertising, marketing and media research in pursuit of more effective marketing and advertising communications.

American Advertising Federation (opens in a new window) - represents 50,000 industry professionals and a nationally coordinated network of advertisers, agencies, media companies, ad clubs and college chapters. Most areas of the site require membership for access.
 
American Association of Advertising Agencies (opens in a new window) - represents the advertising agency business in the United States. Its membership produces approximately 75 percent of the total advertising volume placed by agencies nationwide.
 
American Marketing Association (opens in a new window)- serves individuals and organizations involved in the practice, teaching and study of marketing worldwide.
 
Association of National Advertisers (opens in new window) - provides mostly proprietary resources so membership is required to access most of the useful portions of their site.
 
Interactive Advertising Bureau (opens in new window) - focuses on interactive media advertising, including online, Interactive broadcasting, email, wireless and Interactive television media.
 
Outdoor Advertising Association of America (opens in new window) - represents the outdoor advertising industry and dedicated to promoting, protecting and advancing outdoor advertising interests in the U.S. Strategic focus is on government relations, marketing, communications, membership, and operations.
 
Radio Advertising Bureau (opens in new window) - leads and participates in educational, research, sales, and advocacy programs that promote and advance Radio as a primary advertising.
 
Television Bureau of Advertising (opens in new window) - is a private non-profit association for the commercial television industry in the United States.
 
World Federation of Advertisers (opens in new window) - hosts the largest collection of advertising information on all aspects of marketing, media and communications to clients in over 100 countries.