Wake Tech Community College


Blackboard Calendar Locations Student Email Moodle my.WakeTech WebAdvisor

Business

A guide to resources focusing on general business and specialized business topics

Recommended Databases: Human Resource Management & Labor Relations
(includes both fee-based and free sources)

Off-campus users: you may be prompted to enter your username and password for access. Please use your key account login and password which is the same login used for accessing Blackboard and WebAdvisor.

Bloomberg BNA (opens in a new window) - provides news and research studies pertaining to the legal and regulatory environment of this profession.

Business Information Center (opens in a new window) via NC LIVE - provides access to EBSCO's Business Source Complete and trade journals such as HR Magazine and Human Resource Management.

IWS News (opens in a new window) (opens in new window) - The Institute for Workplace Studies at Cornell University provides free access to trends on labor relations.

Knowledge@Wharton (opens in a new window) - Wharton Business School offers recent news articles and general information in various fields of business.

SHRM (opens in a new window) - this website hosted by the Society for Human Resource Management features the current issues and research facing specialists. Also includes a glossary of HR terminology and a directory of job descriptions.

Magazines, Journals & Newsletters: Human Resource Management & Labor Relations (Subject-Specific Sources)

Off-campus users: you may be prompted to enter your username and password for access. Please use your key account login and password which is the same login used for accessing Blackboard and WebAdvisor.

Dictionaries & Directories:
Human Resource Management & Labor Relations

Associations & Organizations:
Human Resource Management & Labor Relations

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (opens in a new window) - the U.S. agency responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee.

Employee Benefit Research Institute (opens in a new window) - promotes the understanding and furtherance of employee benefits national policy. It is a neutral organization that does objective research on employee benefit programs and public policy with regard to employee benefits.
 
Labor and Employment Relations Association (opens in a new window) - is an organization of professionals interested in industrial relations and human resources. Its 3,000 members include academics and practitioners. LERA publications, including its periodical, Perspectives on Work; its Annual Research Volume; and its Proceedings provide analysis of collective bargaining and industrial relations issues.
 
Society for Human Resource Management (opens in a new window) - provides a wealth of information for its members and for the public.

U. S. Department of Labor (opens in a new window) - The DOL fosters and promotes the welfare of the job seekers, wage earners, and retirees of the United States by improving their working conditions, advancing their opportunities for profitable employment, strengthening free collective bargaining, and tracking changes in employment, prices, and other national economic measurements.