Research Guides: Business: Company Information

Recommended Databases: Company Information
(includes both fee-based and free sources)

Off-campus users: you may be prompted to enter your username and password for access. Please use your key account login and password which is the same login used for accessing Blackboard and WebAdvisor.

Business Information Center (opens in new window) via NC LIVE - provides access to articles from international business and trade journals.

EDGAR Company Search (opens in new window) - provides free access to full-text public company filings submitted to the Securities & Exchange Commission from 1994 to the present.

Morningstar (opens in new window) - provides news, analysis and Morningstar ratings for all companies that trade securities on the global exchanges.

Reuters (opens in new window) - provides financial news and investment tools.

Yahoo! Finance (opens in new window) - links to information on U.S. markets, world markets, data sources, finance references, investment editorials, financial news, and other helpful websites.

ABI/INFORM Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
Business Market Research Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Contains company, industry, economic, and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analytica, and Snapshots.
Data Axle Reference Solutions (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Formerly ReferenceUSA. Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.

Magazines, Journals, & Newsletters: Company Information
(Subject-Specific Sources)

Barron's (opens in new window)
Provides in-depth analysis and commentary on the markets, updated every business day online.
Business Week (opens in new window)
Devoted to the publication of scholarly papers in accounting, finance and business studies
Economist (opens in new window)
Focuses on economics, finance and international politics.
The Financial Times (opens in new window)
Supplies the latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, comment and analysis.
Forbes (opens in new window)
Provides insight through review of the nation's largest corporations.
Fortune (opens in new window)
Reports on the economic, political and social trends that affect the environment of business.

Wall Street Journal (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides news and financial information for executives and managers on Wall Street, at corporations and businesses and for individual investors worldwide.

Associations & Organizations: Company Information

Information on establishing and operating a business in the United States is available by accessing:

e-Secretaryofstate.com (opens in new window) - All businesses, publicly or privately held, are legally required to file applications and statements forms with their respective Secretary of State office. This internet site includes links to Secretary of State Offices in each state of the U.S.
SEC.gov (opens in new window) - Under federal securities laws, companies that are issuing securities or whose securities are publicly traded must make available all information, whether positive or negative, that might be relevant to an investor's decision to buy, sell, or hold the security. Filing requirements are accessed through the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). This website also provides two sources on the basics of financial reporting.
- Beginners' Guide to Financial Statements (opens in new window)
- Researching Public Companies Through EDGAR: A Guide for Investors (opens in new window)

Business

Recommended Databases: Company Information (includes both fee-based and free sources)

Magazines, Journals, & Newsletters: Company Information (Subject-Specific Sources)

Associations & Organizations: Company Information

Recommended Databases: Company Information
(includes both fee-based and free sources)

Magazines, Journals, & Newsletters: Company Information
(Subject-Specific Sources)