This search box will search all six Wake Tech Community College libraries. If you wish to search only one library, select "Search other NC Community College libraries" and then select your home library.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Reference books are used in the library. Photocopiers are available at all WTCC Libraries. For assistance, please speak with a librarian.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by
Call Number: (Ref.) B 51 .R68 1998 (WAKE MAIN)
Publication Date: 1998-05-26
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy is the most ambitious international philosophy project in many years. It covers: The core of most Anglo-American philosophy - the metaphysical, epistemological and logical questions The usual menu of ethics, political philosophy and the history of philosophy The philosophy of other cultures - from Chinese, Arabic and Jewish philosophy to the philosophy of Africa and Latin America The most impressive range of authors have been gathered together on this unique project: William Alston, Roderick Chisolm, Fred Dretske, Joel Feinberg, Sandra Harding, Larry Laudan, Martha Nussbaum, Richard Popkin, Richard Rorty, Alan Ryan, Gyatri Chakravorty Spivak, Stephen Stich, Patrick Suppes and Bernard Williams, to name just a few.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by
Call Number: (Ref) B 31 .C35 1999 (WAKE-NORTH and WAKE-PSEC)
Publication Date: 1999-09-28
This dictionary offers a rich, comprehensive, and up-to-date survey of ideas and thinkers written by an international team of 436 contributors. This book include the most comprehensive entries on major philosophers, preeminent contemporary philosophers, extensive coverage of rapidly developing fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics, entries on non-Western philosophy, and coverage of Continental philosophy. (This resource is also available online).
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by
Call Number: B 41 .B53 2008 (WAKE-WEST)
Publication Date: 2008-10-02
Ranging from Aristotle to Zen, the two thousand plus entries cover the entire span of philosophy, from the Vedas to the most recent technical terminology, with ample coverage of important themes from Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy. Here are all the terms one would expect to find in a comprehensive dictionary of philosophy--idealism and empiricism, ethics and aesthetics, Epicureanism and Stoicism, existentialism and logical positivism, and much more. Blackburn also defines many concepts not normally found in such reference works, including entries for apathy, laughter, and the meaning of life, and he includes relevant terms from disciplines such as physics, biology, and linguistics. In addition, there are capsule biographies of nearly five hundred individuals, from the pre-Socratics to such contemporary figures as Jacques Derrida, Michel Foucault, Richard Rorty, and Simone de Beauvoir.
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy by
Call Number: (Ref) B 163 .E53 1997 (WAKE MAIN)
Publication Date: 1997-06-30
The only encyclopedia in English specific to the field of Classical Philosophy, this work contains over 250 articles on major and minor figures and topics by leading scholars.
While our libraries hold many physical books, we have over 125,000 ebooks. Some of them are accessible through the library catalog. If you can't find anything there, please look at these other collections we own.
If you can't find what you need through Wake Tech's Interlibrary Loan Service, you may want to try searching for books at other nearby libraries. WorldCat searches public and private libraries for books.