Research Guides: Dental Assisting: Online Resources

Dental Organizations

Research Databases

Research databases are online, organized collections of information. A database can contain a number of information sources including scholarly journals, encyclopedias, magazines, newspapers, videos, and images. Some databases cover a specific subject while others cover a wide variety of subjects.

Below is a list of the Wake Tech databases that contain health and medical information.

*Library Databases

Students, faculty, and staff at Wake Tech have remote access to library databases off campus. This includes full-text electronic books, journal & magazine articles, newspapers, videos, and much more.

Off-campus users: To access the research databases from off campus, click on the database link you would like to search. You will then be prompted to login. Your username is the first part of your email address (everything BEFORE @my.waketech.edu). Your password is the same as your email password. Login Instructions.

CINAHL Complete (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
Consumer Health Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care, and dentistry.
Health & Medical Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Healthcare Administration Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
Visible Body (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body

E-Journal Portal

E-Journal Portal (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
To search for a particular journal or magazine title, try E-Journal Portal -- more than 40,000 titles!

Other Health Sciences Databases

NC LIVE has a very large collection of materials, but there are some subjects at Wake Tech that require more specialized material such as databases specific to nursing and allied health. The databases below are selected and purchased for you by Wake Tech and should help you when NC LIVE doesn't have what you need.

PMC PubMed Central (opens in new window)
is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).