Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off Campus Access
When you attempt to use any of our databases, you will be asked to log in with a user name and password. Use your Wake Tech Key Account (that's your Blackboard/WebAdvisor login) for this box.
Credo Reference (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a great place to start your research by using encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference resources.
JSTOR (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Offers scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated (PDF files). JSTOR covers a vast area of disciplines, including literature, science, history, foreign languages, and education.
History Study Center (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Contents include reference primary source documents, books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images, and video clips.
NC LIVE (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
NC LIVE is a consortium of North Carolina libraries, providing digital content and services to public and academic libraries statewide. NC LIVE covers a wide variety of topics including, but not limited to, history, health, literature, nursing, science and technology.
100 Milestone Documents (opens in new window)
This site contains 100 milestone documents compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965 and include the Bill of Rights, the Emancipation Proclamation, and the Marshall Plan.
The Emma Goldman Papers (opens in new window)
Emma Goldman was a major figure in the history of American radicalism and feminism. This is a collection of her papers and includes exhibitions and memorabilia.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook (opens in new window)
The Internet History Sourcebook Project is a collection of public domain and copyright-permitted historical texts. Online resources include speeches, letters, reports, and journal articles.
The Making of America (opens in new window)
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
The Valley of the Shadow Project (opens in new window)
The Valley of the Shadow is a digital archive of primary sources that document the lives of people in Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania, during the era of the American Civil War. Here you may explore thousands of original documents that allow you to see what life was like during the Civil War for the men and women of Augusta and Franklin.
Documenting the American South (opens in new window)
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
Library of Congress American Memory Project (opens in new window)
The American Memory Project is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Behind the Veil, Jim Crow in the South
The primary purpose of "Behind The Veil" was to record and preserve the living memory of African American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s.
American Slave Narratives (opens in new window)
The American Slave Narratives contain interviews with slaves from Ohio to Mississippi, including North and South Carolina. Click on Race and Ethnicity and then African American Studies to access these materials.