The following are databases from NC LIVE. These databases have a general/multidisciplinary scope.
Credo Reference (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a great place to start your research by using encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference resources.
CQ Researcher Online (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides articles on various topics with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, the American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Social Science Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
Films on Demand Video Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.
Psychotherapy.net (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Psychotherapy.net is a streaming service that offers instant access to Psychotherapy training videos, anywhere, anytime.
The Journal of Social Work Values and Ethics (opens in new window)
The JSWVE examines the ethical and values issues that impact and are interwoven with social work practice, research, and theory development. JSWVE addresses ethical and value issues that encompass the full range of social problems and issues that social workers encounter. The journal provides the necessary historical perspectives on the development of social work values and ethics, as well as present articles providing value and ethical dilemmas stemming from state-of-the-art developments. Open Access.
Contemporary Rural Social Work (opens in new window)
Contemporary Rural Social Work is an online journal devoted to the development of knowledge about rural social work and to the promotion of excellence in rural practice...
The journal encourages submissions of scholarly articles that address current issues related to practice, cultural responsiveness, education, policy, human behavior, diversity, social and economic justice, research, and innovations in the field of rural social work. Articles may be conceptual, empirical, or theoretical and should make substantive contributions to the field. Open Access.
Publishes articles on all aspects of social work and social welfare that yield new insights into established practices, evaluate new techniques and research, examine current social problems, or provide critical analysis on problems in the profession. 01/01/1993 to present (with a 12 Month delay) *Full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo")
Social Work Research
Publishes articles, review articles and commentary focusing on social work and practice-based research, evaluation and research studies contributing to knowledge about social work issues and problems. 03/01/1995 to present (with a 12 Month delay) *Full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo")