Off-Campus Access to the Library Databases
To access library databases from off-campus, use your Wake Tech Blackboard username and password.
Here are some useful databases with non-subject specific and subject-specific materials. These materials include journals, magazines, newspapers, electronic books, government documents, and some websites.
CQ Researcher Online (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides articles on various topics with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Biology Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Health & Medical Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Research Library (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database containing business, political science, literature, and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
US Newsstream (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires, and selected news magazines.
Find a Journal by Title
If you are looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, use E-Journal Portal (opens in new window). Type the journal, magazine or newspaper title/name in the search box or use the A-Z index to select a title or titles.
Search for Videos
Films on Demand Video Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.
Free Open Access Journals
African Invertebrates (opens in new window)
African Invertebrates provides international peer-reviewed e-journal articles. Coverage includes biology, ecology, biogeography, Afrotropical invertebrates, and more.
BMC Biology (opens in new window)
BMC Biology contains full text peer review research and methodology biology articles
BMC Evolutionary Biology (opens in new window)
BMC Evolutionary Biology provides full text peer-reviewed journal articles covering molecular and non-molecular evolution of all organisms.
ELife (opens in new window)
eLife provides peer-reviewed and full text scientific articles covering biomedical and life sciences.
HOAJ Biology (opens in new window)
This journal provides full text scholarly articles covering the areas of biology and related subject areas - molecular, genetic, cellular, etc.
International Journal of Biological Sciences (opens in new window)
The International Journal of Biological Sciences provides full text scholarly articles and reviews covering biological sciences.
Nature Communications (opens in new window)
Nature Communications contains full text scientific and peer-reviewed articles covering various areas in the sciences
Open Biology (open in new window)
Open Biology provides full text scholarly and scientific articles covering biology and related areas
PLOS Biology (opens in new window)
PLOS Biology covers full text research articles covering biological sciences and other related fields including chemistry, medicine, mathematics, etc.