All off-campus links to Wake Tech online electronic databases require a login. You can now log into online databases using your Wake Tech username and password (your key account). Please note that this is the same login as Blackboard and WebAdvisor.
Here are some useful databases for non-subject specific and subject-specific materials. These materials include journals, magazines, newspapers, electronic books, government documents, and websites.
CQ Researcher Online (opens in new window)
Provides articles on various topics with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
JSTOR (opens in new window)
Offers scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated (PDF files). JSTOR covers a vast area of disciplines, including literature, science, history, foreign languages, and education.
Occupational Outlook Handbook (opens in new window)
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics and will give you lots of great facts on careers. Check out the education requirements, salary, and job outlook using the tabs at the top of the profile page.
Career & Technical Education Database (opens in new window)
Vocational information on technical topics such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
ProQuest Central (opens in new window)
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Computing Database (opens in new window)
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science, and hardware.
Find a Journal by Title
If you are looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, use E-Journal Portal (opens in new window). Type in the journal, magazine, or newspaper title/name in the search box or use the A-Z index to select a title or titles.
Search for Videos
Films on Demand Video Collection (opens in new window)
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.
Free Open Access Journals