Fingerprinting Research Guide

The Fingerprint Sourcebook aims to be the definitive resource on the science of fingerprint identification. The Sourcebook was prepared by the International Association for Identification and topics covered include the anatomy and physiology of friction ridge skin (the uniquely ridged skin found on the palms and soles); techniques for recording exemplars from both living and deceased subjects; the FBI's Automated Fingerprint Identifications Systems (AFIS); latent print development, preservation and documentation; equipment and laboratory quality assurance, and more.

The NIJ is part of the U.S Department of Justice. They are responsible for research, development, and evaluation of information related to criminal justice.

Hosted by the U.S Department of Justice, this page contains information and resources on forensic science.

The FBI's page on forensics and scientific analysis. Learn more about how the FBI conducts investigations using forensics.

This organization is dedicated to research and development in the forensic science field. Check out there NPS discovery page to read reports and latest news.

NIST's goal is to strengthen forensic science practices and standards.

The FBI's handbook of forensic services provides guidelines for collecting, preserving, packaging, and shipping evidence.

A searchable list of all Federal Rules of Evidence complied by Cornell Law School's Legal Information Institute.

Focused on making primary legal materials and community resources free and easy to find on the Internet. The company provides Internet users with free case law, codes, regulations, legal articles and legal blog and twitterer databases, as well as additional community resources. Justia works with educational, public interest and other socially focused organizations to bring legal and consumer information to the online community.

The Casebriefs.com mission is to give the students of law the power to share and learn through an open and connected environment.

An overview of Stacy v. State from Justia Law

US v. Mitchell, 365 F. 3d 215 - Court of Appeals, 3rd Circuit 2004

The United States Court of Appeals
For the Seventh Circuit No. 01-1092
United States of America, Plaintiff-Appellee,
v. Wade M. Havvard, Defendant-Appellant.
Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Indiana, Indianapolis Division.

An overview of the Court case, People v. Jennings- the first official case to integrate fingerprints as plausible evidence in America.

Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
509 U.S. 579 (1993) Case overview from Justia.com

A list of Fingerprint Challenge Supreme Court Rulings.

Fingerprints not admissible. Provided by Crime Lab Report.

Changed and admitted fingerprints. Provided by U.S Attorney's office.

The American Academy of Forensic Sciences is a multi-disciplinary professional organization that provides leadership to advance science and its application to the legal system.

The ABFA serves as the certification body for the Forensic Specialties Accreditation Board and provides information on certification standards and degree requirements.

SOFT promotes and encourages professional development, education, and collaboration for those in the field of forensic toxicology.

This association promotes shared knowledge, education, and research across the forensic science community.

This organization is made of professionals, educators, and students in the field of forensic science. Their goal is share and encourage research on trace evidence.

This organization is committed to advancing research and development in the field of forensic toxicology.

A collection of over 1000 terms and items of interest used in the science of friction skin identification.

A variety of fingerprint resources from history to influential court cases.

A historical survey of fingerprinting.

A simplified guide to fingerprint analysis.