World Region(s) Focus:
Middle East and North Africa (MENA)
Module Title:
"Digital Literacy in a Global Context: Challenges and Opportunities in the Middle East and North Africa"
Module Description:
This asynchronous module explores the importance of digital literacy in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) regions. Students will investigate how digital literacy affects education, employment, and social inclusion while analyzing initiatives designed to enhance digital skills in these regions. The module offers flexible, self-paced activities that engage students in global thinking and practical application, tailored to the online learning environment.
Global Learning Outcomes:
Understand the Global Significance of Digital Literacy: Students will explain the role of digital literacy in promoting social inclusion and economic development in MENA.
Evaluate Digital Literacy Initiatives: Students will assess the effectiveness of digital literacy programs in selected countries within MENA, identifying key challenges and successes.
Develop Strategies for Improving Digital Literacy: Students will create actionable strategies to improve digital literacy, considering the cultural and socio-economic contexts of the target regions.
Global Learning Activities:
Activity 1: Case Study Analysis
Objective: To analyze digital literacy initiatives in a specific MENA country.
Procedures:
Students will choose a country from MENA and conduct independent research on digital literacy programs implemented there.
They will analyze the program’s objectives, target audience, methods, and outcomes, considering socio-economic and cultural factors.
A structured template will be provided to guide the analysis, and students will submit their findings through the course's learning management system (LMS).
Assessment: The case study will be evaluated based on depth of analysis, contextual understanding, and critical thinking.
Follow-up: Students will participate in an online discussion board where they post a summary of their findings and respond to at least two peers' posts, comparing different initiatives.
Activity 2: Virtual Cultural Exhibit Design
Objective: To create a virtual exhibit that highlights the cultural, social, and economic factors influencing digital literacy in a chosen MENA country.
Procedures:
Students will research various cultural, historical, and economic elements of the country they’ve selected, focusing on how these aspects influence digital literacy efforts.
They will collect multimedia resources (videos, images, articles, podcasts, and infographics) that reflect the region’s unique challenges and opportunities related to digital inclusion and education.
Exhibit Design: Using a tool like Google Sites, Padlet, or Canva, students will design a virtual exhibit that presents their findings in a visually engaging format. The exhibit must include at least 4 types of media (e.g., a video interview with an educator, a podcast discussing digital literacy, images depicting access challenges, and an article or infographic with data on internet penetration). Each media piece should be accompanied by a brief written or recorded commentary where students explain its significance in understanding the region’s digital literacy landscape.
Cultural Context Section: As part of the exhibit, students must include a section where they provide their analysis of how cultural values, social structures, or economic conditions influence digital literacy programs in the region. This could involve discussing the role of language diversity, gender norms, or government policies in the digital divide.
Peer Review: Once exhibits are uploaded to the course platform, students will visit at least two other virtual exhibits and provide feedback. They’ll comment on what they learned from the exhibits and offer suggestions for improvement or additional insights.
The completed design will be submitted to the LMS.
Assessment: Virtual exhibits will be evaluated based on (1) Cultural Insight: The depth and accuracy of cultural understanding demonstrated in the exhibit. (2) Multimedia Engagement: How effectively students curated and integrated different media into their exhibit. (3) Creativity and Presentation: The design and engagement of the virtual exhibit as a learning tool. (4) Peer Review Participation: Quality and thoughtfulness of feedback provided to peers.
Follow-up: Students can submit a reflection discussing how the process of creating the virtual exhibit enhanced their understanding of the region and its digital literacy challenges.
Activity 3: Digital Storytelling Project
Objective: To create a digital story that highlights the importance of digital literacy in overcoming socio-economic barriers.
Procedures:
Students will use online tools (e.g., Yuja, Canva, PowerPoint, Adobe Spark, WeVideo) to create a digital story (video or multimedia presentation) that tells the story of an individual or community in MENA who has benefited from digital literacy.
They will upload their digital story to the LMS, along with a brief written summary.
Assessment: Digital stories will be evaluated on creativity, narrative quality, and effectiveness in conveying the significance of digital literacy.
Follow-up: Students will watch at least three classmates' digital stories and provide constructive feedback in the discussion forum.
Activity 4: Policy Brief Writing
Objective: To propose policy recommendations for improving digital literacy in a selected country from MENA.
Procedures:
Students will write a policy brief in which they propose recommendations for improving digital literacy in a chosen MENA country.
The brief should include a clear argument, supported by research, and actionable recommendations tailored to the region's socio-political context.
The policy brief will be submitted via the LMS.
Assessment: Policy briefs will be assessed based on clarity, research support, feasibility of recommendations, and understanding of regional context.
Follow-up: Students will participate in an asynchronous peer review, providing feedback on two other students' briefs through a structured online form.
Rubric for Activity 1: Case Study Analysis (100 Points Total)
Objective: Analyze digital literacy initiatives in a selected MENA country.
|
Criteria |
Excellent (90-100) |
Proficient (80-89) |
Basic (70-79) |
Needs Improvement (Below 70) |
|
Depth of Analysis (30%) |
Provides a thorough, well-researched analysis with strong critical insights and multiple supporting examples. |
Provides a good analysis with relevant examples, but lacks depth in some areas. |
Provides a basic overview with limited analysis or supporting examples. |
Lacks clear analysis, missing key components or minimal effort. |
|
Contextual Understanding (25%) |
Demonstrates a deep understanding of socio-economic and cultural factors affecting digital literacy in the country. |
Shows a good understanding but lacks connections to broader socio-economic and cultural factors. |
Shows some understanding but does not explore cultural or socio-economic context deeply. |
Fails to demonstrate understanding of the cultural and socio-economic context. |
|
Critical Thinking (25%) |
Clearly evaluates strengths and weaknesses of the digital literacy initiative, offering original insights. |
Evaluates the initiative with some depth but lacks original insights. |
Attempts evaluation but mostly summarizes without critical analysis. |
Does not evaluate or critically analyze the initiative. |
|
Discussion Board Participation (20%) |
Engages actively, posting a strong summary and thoughtful responses to two peers with comparisons and insights. |
Posts a summary and responds to two peers with relevant comments. |
Posts a summary but minimal engagement with peers. |
Does not participate or submits weak responses. |
Rubric for Activity 2: Virtual Cultural Exhibit (100 Points Total)
Objective: Design a virtual exhibit exploring the cultural, social, and economic factors affecting digital literacy.
|
Criteria |
Excellent (90-100) |
Proficient (80-89) |
Basic (70-79) |
Needs Improvement (Below 70) |
|
Cultural Insight (30%) |
Exhibit deeply analyzes cultural, economic, and social factors affecting digital literacy with strong supporting evidence. |
Exhibit presents a good analysis but lacks depth in one or more areas. |
Exhibit provides a basic understanding but lacks critical analysis. |
Exhibit does not adequately explore cultural, economic, or social factors. |
|
Multimedia Engagement (25%) |
Includes at least 4 engaging media types with clear explanations of their relevance. |
Includes 3 media types, but some are not well integrated or explained. |
Includes 2 media types, with limited explanation of their relevance. |
Lacks multimedia elements or does not explain their significance. |
|
Creativity & Presentation (25%) |
Exhibit is visually engaging, well-organized, and easy to navigate. |
Exhibit is well-organized but could be more visually appealing. |
Exhibit lacks organization or is difficult to navigate. |
Exhibit is incomplete, poorly designed, or hard to follow. |
|
Peer Review Participation (20%) |
Provides detailed, thoughtful feedback on at least two exhibits. |
Provides feedback on two exhibits, but with limited depth. |
Provides minimal feedback or only reviews one exhibit. |
Does not participate in peer review. |
Rubric for Activity 3: Digital Storytelling Project (100 Points Total)
Objective: Create a digital story that illustrates the impact of digital literacy.
|
Criteria |
Excellent (90-100) |
Proficient (80-89) |
Basic (70-79) |
Needs Improvement (Below 70) |
|
Storytelling & Narrative (30%) |
Story is compelling, well-structured, and clearly illustrates the role of digital literacy. |
Story is clear but could be more engaging or structured. |
Story is somewhat unclear or lacks depth. |
Story is disorganized, lacks focus, or is incomplete. |
|
Use of Digital Tools (25%) |
Effectively uses digital tools to create an engaging and professional-quality story. |
Uses digital tools well but with minor flaws in execution. |
Uses digital tools but with noticeable technical or design issues. |
Minimal effort in using digital tools, with poor quality or missing elements. |
|
Connection to Digital Literacy (25%) |
Clearly demonstrates the importance of digital literacy with strong examples and analysis. |
Demonstrates the importance of digital literacy but lacks depth in some areas. |
Mentions digital literacy but with limited explanation or weak examples. |
Does not clearly connect to digital literacy or lacks supporting evidence. |
|
Peer Feedback (20%) |
Thoughtfully engages with at least three classmates' stories, offering constructive feedback. |
Provides feedback to three classmates but with limited depth. |
Provides minimal feedback or reviews fewer than three classmates. |
Does not participate in peer feedback. |
Rubric for Activity 4: Policy Brief Writing (100 Points Total)
Objective: Develop a policy brief proposing recommendations for improving digital literacy.
|
Criteria |
Excellent (90-100) |
Proficient (80-89) |
Basic (70-79) |
Needs Improvement (Below 70) |
|
Clarity & Organization (30%) |
Policy brief is well-structured, concise, and clearly presents key arguments. |
Policy brief is well-organized but could be clearer in some areas. |
Policy brief lacks strong organization or clarity. |
Policy brief is difficult to follow and poorly structured. |
|
Research & Evidence (25%) |
Uses strong, well-cited research to support recommendations. |
Uses research but lacks depth or citation accuracy. |
Uses limited research or does not clearly support recommendations. |
Lacks sufficient research or citations. |
|
Feasibility of Recommendations (25%) |
Proposes actionable, well-reasoned policy solutions relevant to the country’s socio-political context. |
Proposes relevant recommendations but lacks depth in feasibility. |
Proposes general or vague recommendations with limited feasibility. |
Recommendations are unclear, unrealistic, or unsupported. |
|
Peer Review Participation (20%) |
Provides constructive, well-thought-out feedback on two policy briefs. |
Provides feedback on two briefs but lacks detail. |
Provides minimal feedback or only reviews one brief. |
Does not participate in peer review. |