Databases and Journals for Articles - American History II - Wils - Research Guides at Wake Technical Community College

Search these databases by subject-

History Study Center (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Contents include reference primary source documents, books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images, and video clips.
Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection (opens in a new window) This link opens in a new window
3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.
SIRS Issues Researcher (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database providing a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources.
ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
JSTOR (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Offers scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.

The video below helps to explain the difference between primary, secondary, and tertiary sources.

Primary, Secondary, & Tertiary Sources Video Transcript (word document)

Imagine Easy Solutions. (2014, June 2). Understanding Primary & Secondary Sources. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/pmno-Yfetd8

Search these specific titles by subject--

The Journal of American History (opens in a new window)
"Each volume contains interpretive essays on all aspects of American history, plus reviews of books, films, movies, television programs, museum exhibits and resource guides, as well as microform, oral history, archive and manuscript collections, bibliographies of scholarship contained in recent scholarly periodicals and dissertations."
American Diplomacy (opens in a new window)
Commentary, analysis and research on American foreign policy and its practice.
American Heritage (opens in a new window)
Focuses on American history, presenting essays on topics relating to events in US history.
The American Prospect (opens in a new window)
Discussions on United States policy and practices.
American Studies (opens in a new window)
Publishes content on American history, politics, and culture.

You can find all our online resources through our library website at

library.waketech.edu

When you attempt to use any of our databases off campus, you will be asked to log in with a user name and password. Use your Wake Tech Key Account (that's the same as your Blackboard login) for this box.