Research Guides: Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Sources for History Research Guide: Tertiary Source Databases

Tertiary sources consist of information which is a distillation and collection of primary and secondary sources. Including:

Almanacs;
Bibliographies (also considered secondary);
Chronologies;
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias (also considered secondary);
Directories;
Fact books;
Guidebooks;
Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies used to locate primary and secondary sources;
Manuals;
Textbooks (may also be secondary).

tertiary sources

Credo Reference (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a great place to start your research by using encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference resources.
Gale Ebooks (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
NCPedia (opens in a new window) This link opens in a new window
Information about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.
eLibrary (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Find History Study Center here! This easy-to-use curriculum and reference resource delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for schools and libraries of all kinds, as well as additional subject-based material.
Data-Axle Reference Solutions (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Formerly ReferenceUSA. Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.