Skip to Main Content
Textbooks and Other Books
Stress Related Disorders Sb, 6th Ed by Kevin Hayes (Other)
Stress-Related Disorders Sourcebook, Sixth Edition provides updated information about the origins and types of stress and describes physical- and mental-health disorders that may develop during and after stressful situations. Readers will learn about how stress worsens asthma, digestive disorders, infertility, and chronic pain. The book also discusses how stress contributes to mental-health problems, including depression, anxiety disorders, PTSD, and addiction to tobacco, alcohol, and drugs. Information about trauma, loss, and grief is presented, along with suggestions for managing stressful situations, such as aggressive driving, caregiver stress, economic hardship, and occupational stress. Tips on helping children and teens cope with stress are also offered, along with a glossary of related terms and a directory of resources.
Call Number: RA 785 .S78 2022
Publication Date: 2021-12-24
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Call Number: RESERVE
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
Psychology in Your Life by Sarah Grison; Michael S. Gazzaniga
"Makes science accessible at all levels by showing how psychology is relevant to students everyday lives. Author Sarah Grison--an expert in the teaching of introductory psychology--has created a print and digital package with an equal commitment to the success of every instructor and student. A strong, author-driven support package--rich with original media, a test bank, Active Learning slides, and InQuizitive adaptive learning modules--provides instructors with everything they need to help todays students understand and apply introductory psychology"--
Publication Date: 2018-12-01
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Health Psychology by Lee Cohen (Editor-In-Chief)
Organized thematically as an A to Z reference encyclopedia across 4 volumes, this comprehensive resource on health psychology provides a concise overview of the ever-expanding interdisciplinary field. The first volume of The Wiley Encyclopedia of Health Psychology covers the biological bases of health behavior, providing information on topics in the broad areas of neuroscience and biopsychology relevant to health behavior. Volume II addresses topics related to theories and data derived from social psychology including health or prevention related behaviors, stress and coping, and the design and evaluation of behavioral interventions. The third volume examines the applied aspects of the field of health psychology including practical topics that clinical health psychologists face in the workplace, issues related to unhealthy behaviors that individuals engage in, behavioral aspects of medical problems, and issues related to the comorbidity of psychiatric disorders and chronic health problems. Volume IV examines special issues in health psychology covering various historical, philosophical, and conceptual issues. It also considers issues related to diversity and underrepresented/underserved groups. As a whole, this 4-volume set: Delves into topics related to Health Psychology across the subfields of Biopsychology, Social Psychology, Clinical Psychology Appeals to the broader field of Behavioral Medicine, including medical and allied health fields Examines the interconnections between biology, psychology, and socio-environmental factors The Wiley Encyclopedia of Health Psychology is an ideal resource for college and university libraries as well as for professional psychologists and other health care professionals interested in the relationship of psychological and physical well being.
Publication Date: 2020-10-26