Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Selection of Landscape Architecture Books Available at Wake Tech
The Builder's Guide by
Call Number: NA 2815 .B4 1974
Publication Date: 1975-01-21
Da Capo Press series in architecture and decorative art, #14
Reprint of the 1839 edition.
Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture by
Call Number: NA 31 .B83 2002
Publication Date: 2001-12-05
Over 4,000 architectural definitions 3,000 defining illustrations Meticulously written, heavily cross-referenced, and unique in the fact that it is a dictionary that can truly be called a visual resource, theIllustrated Dictionary of Architecture, Second Edition, is the best way for any designer or other interested professional or layperson -- to gain a complete understanding of architectural elements. Author Ernest Burden's unique resource contains nearly 4000 design-related definitions and more than 3000 illustrations -- far more than any other dictionary. And now, biographies of over 300 architects, with classic examples of their work, have been added to round out the coverage in this edition. You'll find full details and pictorial coverage of: * Architectural Styles *Details *Building Elements * Forms * Building Systems
Architecture in Minutes by
Call Number: NA 200 .H63 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
In this concise and comprehensive guide to the world of architecture, art historian Susie Hodge outlines the history and theory of architecture, from the earliest structures and monuments to the cutting-edge concepts of the present day, and profiles dozens of key buildings and celebrated architects. Topics and concepts include the Greek orders, Roman engineering, Gothic architecture, the Renaissance, the Baroque era, Revivalism, Art Nouveau, Modernism, Futurism, and Dynamic architecture. Every concept is accompanied by an illustration.
Architecture 101 by
Call Number: NA 200 .B775 2015
Publication Date: 2015-11-15
A crash course in designing and constructing buildings Too often, textbooks turn the noteworthy details of architecture into tedious discourse that would put even Frank Gehry to sleep. Architecture 101 cuts out the boring explanations, and instead provides a hands-on lesson that keeps you engaged as you explore the world's greatest structures. Featuring only the most important facts, building styles, and architects, you'll enjoy uncovering the remarkable world of architecture with this book. Inside, you'll also find fascinating elements like: Illustrations of popular building styles, such as Georgian and Greek Revival Drawings of the essential parts of different buildings Unique profiles of the most inspirational figures in architecture From Norman Foster and Frank Lloyd Wright to the Beauvais Cathedral and the Empire State Building, Architecture 101 is packed with hundreds of entertaining architecture tidbits that you can't get anywhere else!
Clean Architecture by
Call Number: QA 76.76 .D47 M3648 2018
Publication Date: 2017-09-10
Building upon the success of best-sellers The Clean Coder and Clean Code, legendary software craftsman Robert C. "Uncle Bob" Martin shows how to bring greater professionalism and discipline to application architecture and design. As with his other books, Martin's Clean Architecture doesn't merely present multiple choices and options, and say "use your best judgment": it tells you what choices to make, and why those choices are critical to your success. Martin offers direct, no-nonsense answers to key architecture and design questions like: What are the best high level structures for different kinds of applications, including web, database, thick-client, console, and embedded apps? What are the core principles of software architecture? What is the role of the architect, and what is he/she really trying to achieve? What are the core principles of software design? How do designs and architectures go wrong, and what can you do about it? What are the disciplines and practices of professional architects and designers? Clean Architecture is essential reading for every software architect, systems analyst, system designer, and software manager -- and for any programmer who aspires to these roles or is impacted by their work.
Sustainable Residential Architecture by
Call Number: NA 2542.36 .A48 2014
Publication Date: 2014-09-11
A showcase of sustainable living in prefab, solar, mobile and modular houses. In this book, architect Ana Maria Alvarez presents an array of the world's best sustainable residential architecture. Studying houses in many countries, she provides photographs, floor plans and elevations, mechanical schematics showing water and air circulation, and more to reveal how even the smallest home can be sustainable, functional and beautiful. Each of the homes is examined in numerous spreads over 400 inspirational pages. The homes range in style, setting, cost, and in some cases, purpose. For example, the entirely self-sufficient Solar Active House was assembled on site of prefab pine panels and 263.7 sq ft of photovoltaic modules that produce all the energy it consumes. Triple pane insulation and heat recovery systems reduce temperature, and windows open automatically when there is a lack of oxygen or excess interior moisture. Shutters provide protection from heat and create a second layer of insulation, cooling in summer and warming in winter. The Sunset Cabin (323 sq ft/30 m2) is set in a mixed wood on an Ontario lakeside and has one bedroom and one washroom. Its plywood and cedar frame and pine walls were built in a month in a city lot in Toronto. It then took just 10 days to dismantle the structure, sort the pieces and reassemble the house overlooking Lake Simcoe. Two reinforced steel beams over four concrete pylons lift the house off the ground for a good view of stunning lake sunsets. The Study Box/Read-Nest is a petite (105 sq ft. /9.8 m2) mobile 1-bedroom hideaway perched on adjustable pylons. For easy and inexpensive mobility the factory timber frame and wood slat walls are easy to disassemble and re-assemble. Designed as a hideaway for reading, sleeping or simply relaxing, the Study Box has tons of shelving and, if needed, a foldable bed perfectly situated under a skylight. Surveying original homes from around the world, 'Sustainable Residential Architecture' is an exceptional resource, reference and book of inspiration for architects, designers, homeowners, and contractors. For all who seek to live with less cost to the environment, this gorgeous book will both inform and delight. AUTHOR: Ana Maria Alvarez is an architect, urban planner, writer and an editor of architectural books. She is co-author with Alejandro Bahamon of 'Light Color Sound: Sensory Effects in Contemporary Architecture' ("Inspiring visual sourcebook." ArchNewsNow). She lives in Barcelona, Spain. Colour throughout
The Elements of Modern Architecture by
Call Number: NA 680 .R3145 2014
Publication Date: 2014-06-17
After a period in which computation-derived architecture--driven by digital design tools, data analysis, and new formal expression--has thrived, students and their teachers have returned to age-old techniques before employing the digital tools that are a part of every architect's studio. Tired of the perfectly rendered screen image, architects are making presentations that are clearly the work of the hand and the mind, not the computer.This ambitious publication, organized chronologically, is aimed at a new generation of architects who take technology for granted, but seek to further understand the principles of what makes a building meaningful and enduring. Each of the fifty works of architecture is presented through detailed consideration of its site, topology, and surroundings; natural light, volumes, and massing; program and circulation; details, fenestration, and ornamentation. Over 2,500 painstakingly hand-drawn images of the buildings of the past seven decades help readers return to the core values of understanding site and creating buildings: looking with the eyes, engaging through direct physical experience, and constructing by hand.
Call Number: NA 2542.35 .B79 2015
Publication Date: 2015-04-21
Despite the ever-growing sophistication of synthetic and digital tools, it's the natural world that captures the imaginations of today's vanguard designers. By looking to nature as a teacher rather than simply as a source for raw materials, pioneers in the emerging biomimicry movement are developing design methods and materials to create intelligent buildings that emulate life itself. InHypernatural architecture and material experts Blaine Brownell and Marc Swackhamer present an international collection of forty-two case studies that illustrate astonishing new applications possible in this rapidly growing field, from Echoviren, a botanical pavilion that was designed to wilt into its surrounding redwood forest in Northern California, to the MIT Media Lab's Silk Pavilion, constructed by the threads of silkworms as they passed over scaffolding. Together, these projects show that by looking to nature, design can be a tool that makes our built environment more efficient, sustainable, and, most of all, livable.
The Library Online Catalog
The library online catalog will allow you search for books and other library materials housed within all five Wake Tech Campus libraries and other community college libraries in the state of North Carolina. Wake Tech library users can borrow books from other community college libraries within the consortium. Search by Author, Title, Subject/Keywords. Search within indivdual library by selecting the library link beneath the search box as needed and click search. From the main search box, users can also search other community college libraries by using the Library drop down menu.
Wake Tech Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system. Books on landscape architecture will be in the "SB" (gardening and landscape architecture) section and related books will be in the "NA" (architecture) section.