Research Guides: How to Conduct Research and Write Your Paper: Library Resources

General Databases

These databases have a general/multidisciplinary scope.

Not sure what keywords to use in your search? Take a look at this guide (opens in new window) from the University of Texas.

Need help searching? Check out this EBSCOhost databases tutorial (opens in new window).

ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
CQ Researcher (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides articles on various topics with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks that you can read on your computer. This database allows you to use an online dictionary and create a citation for the ebook.
Films on Demand Video Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.

Boolean Searching Basics Video

The following video explains boolean searching, or how to use the common operators "AND," "OR" and "NOT" to limit your searches within library databases.

Cushion, K. (2011, July 7). Boolean Searching Basics. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/jMV7X3W_beg

If you can't access the video, copy and paste this link into your browser: http://youtu.be/jMV7X3W_beg

Transcript for Boolean Searching Basics (Word document)

How to Read a Scholarly Article

The following video explains how to read a scholarly article.

Western University Libraries. (2012, April 26). How to Read a Scholarly Article. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/3SmOq6gENPM

If the video is unavailable, visit: https://youtu.be/3SmOq6gENPM

Transcript for How to Read a Scholarly Article (Word document)

Database Tutorial

The following video provides an introduction to the library databases. It will instruct you on how to access them and get started with them.

If you can't access the video, copy and paste this link into your browser: https://youtu.be/jgjZZPkESIE (opens in new window)

The Difference Between Scholarly and Popular Sources

The following video explains the difference between scholarly and popular materials.

University of Houston Libraries. (2020). What are popular and scholarly sources? Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gG6vi6wATTk