Research Guides: Public Safety Administration Research Guide: Databases and Journals for Articles

Search these databases by subject-

ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
CQ Researcher (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides articles on various topics with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Political Science Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.
Criminal Justice Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Research articles from magazine and journals on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Social Science Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
Sociology Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
Career & Technical Education Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Vocational information on technical topics such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
Telecommunications Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the telecommunications industry and its technology. Includes over 140 titles with more than 115 available in full text.

Search these specific titles by subject--

IPSA Journal
The IPSA (International Public Safety Association) Journal is an opportunity to publish articles about leadership issues and best practices relevant to the public safety community: law enforcement, fire service, EMS, telecommunications, public works (water, sanitation, and transportation), public health, hospitals, security, private sector, and emergency management.
Public Administration Quarterly
Public Administration Quarterly (PAQ) publishes articles and symposia of interest to academics and practitioners across the fields of public administration and public affairs.
Journal of Safety Research
The Journal of Safety Research is a multidisciplinary publication that provides for the exchange of scientific evidence in all areas of safety and health, including traffic, workplace, home, and community.
Safety
Safety is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal on industrial and human health safety published quarterly online.
Crime Prevention and Community Safety
Crime Prevention and Community Safety (CPCS) helps readers to identify effective strategies for improving crime prevention and enhancing community safety.
Journal of Emergency Management
The Journal of Emergency Management is edited, written, and peer-reviewed by an internationally recognized team of the foremost, hands-on EM experts.