Wake Tech Community College


Blackboard Calendar Locations Student Email Moodle my.WakeTech WebAdvisor

Fire Services

Resources for those studying or interested in Fire Services and Protection Technology at WTCC.

Journals

Periodical articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals are a valuable source of information in all research areas. Due to budget cuts, the Wake Tech Libraries do not have subscriptions to paper copies of any journals; however, many are available online through our subscriptions to electronic databases or via other sources.

The Journal Finder tool can assist you in finding resources relevant to your needs. Use the search box to enter a journal title (some titles covered are listed below) to get links to databases containing the journal electronically. You can also search for title keywords like fire* and burn* [*=truncation here].  For more help with the Journal finder tool, check out this instruction page.

All of these resources will be available on-campus; databases available from off campus (including those in NC LIVE) require a password for access -- log in with your WTCC key account and password (the same as your BlackBoard login). 

(If you do not have a Wake Tech student ID, you may obtain an NCLIVE password from your local public library)

Some Fire-Specific Journals

These links will take you to the list of sources available to WTCC students via Journal Finder; if you are accessing them off campus you will need to enter a Key Account and password (your Blackboard login) before you can access the journals unless noted otherwise.

Other Useful Databases

Databases

Searching for articles on a subject is best done using an electronic index that searches the contents of many journals at one time. These databases now often provide the full text of articles as well.

Access all of our databases via the links on the library’s webpage. Off-campus  access for most databases requires you to log in with your WTCC Key Account and Password (same as your Blackboard login).  

Databases useful for Fire Science are listed below. In almost any database, a subject search on the word fire* (the asterisk is a truncation symbol) will get you all results where the subject starts with fire, including Firefighters, fire prevention, etc. and is a good starting point.

Indexes Useful for FPT